IPA Structure

All IPA member countries or regions are invited to nominate a representative to join the IPA council. The Chair of the (IPWG) and the convenor of the next IPA conference (Perth 2015) are also invited to join the IPA council.

All IPA council members must be full individual members of IPA. Member countries/ regions are approved by the IPA Council as having a significant industry, and sufficient cooperation to be seen to be capable of electing a true representative. Any region or country is welcome to apply to the council for member status. The IPA currently recognises China, Ecuador, Columbia and Peru as Affiliate Countries with no representation on the IPA Council.

At IPA conferences the IPA council meets and sets the direction and activities for IPA to follow. Please contact your IPA Council member if you have any matters to bring to the attention of IPA.

The IPA council for 2016-2017 is:

Australia – Bettina Gollnow
Azores – António Domingues
California – Ismael Resendiz
Canary Islands – Antonio Lopez
Chile – Christina Gregorczyk
Hawaii – Tony Bayaoa
Israel – Yechiel Steinmetz
New Zealand – Vania Allen
Portugal – To be confirmed
South Africa – Lynn Hoffman


The IPA board for 2016-2017 is:

President:  Audrey Gerber audrey.gerber@bath.edu
Treasurer:  Lynn Hoffman ewh@sun.ac.za
Secretary:  Ismael Resendiz ismaelresendiz@msn.com
IPWG president:  Emily Rigby emilyr@cedarhill.com.au
Members at large:  Vania Allen vania.allen@gmail.com & Maria Oliveira Dragovic joaodragovic.sra@gov-madeira.pt


IPWG Executive

The International Protea Working Group (IPWG) is the research section of the IPA. It is affiliated to and approved by the International Society for Horticultural Science (ISHS).

Chair : Dr Robyn McConchie
Vice-Chair : Dr Audrey Gerber
Secretary : Dr Lynn Hoffman